This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Women's Studies Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's Studies Resources   Tags: feminism, gender studies, sociology, women writers, women's studies  

A research guide for students of Women's Studies.
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2013 URL: http://viterbo.libguides.com/womens Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of feminist theories - Lorraine Code
Call Number: REF HQ 1190 .E53 C63 2004
ISBN: 0415308852
Publication Date: 2004
This path-breaking volume offers an accessible multi-disciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought.

Cover Art
Feminists who changed America, 1963-1975 - Barbara J. Love
Call Number: REF HQ 1412 .F46 L68 2006
ISBN: 025203189X
Publication Date: 2006
Tells the stories of 2,200 individual women and a few notable men who together reignited the women's movement and made permanent changes to entrenched customs and laws during feminism's second wave.

 

Books

Cover Art
The Cinderella test : would you really want the shoe to fit? : subtle ways women are seduced and socialized into servitude and stereotypes - Vera Sonja Maass
Call Number: HQ 1206 .M33 C56 2009
ISBN: 0313379246
Publication Date: 2009
The slipper fits, Cinderella is chosen by the prince, and thus ends one of the most enduring stories of all time. But what message does this seemingly innocuous fairy tale send to women today? That complying with others' expectations and demands, at the expense of your own, is the path to "happily ever after?"

Women's Studies Databases

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
    Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
    Comprehensive tool to locate communications and mass media research. Full text for about 60% of core journals and related titles.
  • Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost)
    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
  • PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
    Full-text psychology research journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and related organizations, 1985 to present.
  • PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
    Indexes articles, book chapters, dissertations on behavioral and psychological topics. Includes social work. Coverage is from 1887. Full-text limited.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Includes over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, 5,000 topic overviews, 5 million periodical articles, nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs, and thousands of podcasts on today's most contentious social issues.

Related Databases

  • Literature Resource Center (InfoTrac)
    Biographical and critical analyses of authors, works, and literary movements from every age and genre.
  • MLA International Bibliography (InfoTrac)
    International index of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of language and literature. Produced by the Modern Language Association and dating back to 1963.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
  • JSTOR
    Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
  • Ebrary
    Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full-text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
  • Oxford Reference
    Use this resource to educate yourself about a topic, grab a statistic or fact, or simply discover some background information.
 

DVDs

Cover Art
Dreamworlds 3 [videorecording] : desire, sex & power in music video - written, edited, & narrated by Sut Jhally
Call Number: PN 1992.8 .M87 D74 2007 Video
ISBN: 1932869123
Publication Date: c2007
A look at how the narratives of music videos shape individual and cultural attitudes toward femininity, masculinity, sexuality, and race.

Profile

Profile Image
Liz Ehr
Contact Info
Cataloging Services Librarian
Todd Wehr Memorial Library
Murphy Center, Room 111
La Crosse, WI 54601
608-796-3265
Send Email
 

Chat with Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Contact Us

Reach us at Viterbo Library by phone, email, or chat.

Circulation Desk: 608-796-3269
Reference Desk: 608-796-3270
Reference Email: reference@viterbo.edu

Library Website: http://www.viterbo.edu/library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip