Resources for students doing research in theatre.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2012
Chronology of American Musical Theatre
Call Number: REF ML 1711.8 N3 N67 2002
Season-by-season chronology of every musical comedy, operetta, comic opera, burlesque, and revue performed on a major New York City stage from 1851 through May 2001
- Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary, mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
- Art Museum Image Gallery
Digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world.
- Literature Resource Center
Biographical and critical analyses of authors, works, and literary movements from every age and genre.
- Naxos Music Library
Audio database of music, including musicals, operas, and operettas.
- Oxford Music Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia of music; includes some opera and musical theatre information.
- Oxford Reference Online
Online collection of reference dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions in many fields, including in-depth, scholarly articles from the Oxford Companions series, bilingual dictionaries, and quotation sources. Includes information on dance, opera, theatre and Shakespeare.
- eBrary Online Books
A database of over 77,000 books on various topics.
- The WWW Library: Theatre Page
- Glopad (Global Performing Arts Database)
GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.
- Library of Congress American Memory Project
An online repository of images, sounds, and videos from American history. “The Variety Stage” project covers musical theatre from the mid 1800s to the 1930s.
- Internet Broadway Database
Database of Broadway productions and actors going back to the early 1800s.
- Internet Off-Broadway Database
Complete Off-Broadway seasons dating back to 1958. Notable Off-Broadway productions from earlier decades, such as The Fantasticks, The Zoo Story, and The Threepenny Opera have also been entered. As of January 2011, almost 6,000 shows have been entered and many more are added daily as our research continues.
- Speech Accent Archive
The speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers.
- The Costume Page
Primary and secondary sources for costume research: existing garments (in museums and galleries), contemporary images (in books and publications), and recommended reference books.
- American Theatre Wing
ATW focuses on programs and activities which help students, audiences and members of the theatrical community itself to learn more about what makes theatre tick from the people who make it so vital. A great source for videos that discuss theatre topics, and for grants and professional development opportunities.
- Twin City Scenic Collection
This is an emerging collection of scenic drops and flats from the scenery collection in the University of Minnesota's Performing Arts Archives Searching is not always working, but you can see sample images.
- Summer Theatre Guide
Guide to summer theatres across the country.
- University of Calgary Historic Costume Design Archives
The collection features a selection of costume and scene designs created for a variety of operas, operettas, stage plays, ballets, and films that were produced in Europe and North America. The designs date back to the mid-nineteenth century and include 62 designers.