This is a research guide for students and faculty in Viterbo's Social Work program.
Last Updated: May 24, 2013
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: REF HV 40 .E53 M59 2008 v.1-4
Publication Date: 2008
Conveys the breadth and depth of the social work profession's collective expertise, formulated and written by social workers from many backgrounds and competencies.
Handbook of health social work
Call Number: HV 687 .H36 G44 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Provides social work students and practitioners with the skills they need to enable them to use evidence-based decisions in their practice.
Multicultural social work practice
Call Number: HV 3176 .S84 M85 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Explores and synthesizes the important theoretical, political, and philosophical concepts related to cultural competence in the field of social work.
Full-text psychology research journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and related organizations, 1985 to present.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Indexes articles, book chapters, dissertations on behavioral and psychological topics. Includes social work. Coverage is from 1887. Full-text limited.
- SAGE Journals
Full-text collection of journals published by Sage in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Authoritative educational database indexing journals and documents. Full-text links to government education documents and EBSCOhost journals.
- Education Research Complete
Covers early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Partly full-text coverage. Includes books and conference papers.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA was established and directed by Congress in 1992 to target substance abuse and mental health services to people in need and to translate research in these areas into the general health care system.
- National Association of Social Workers
The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is a membership organization of professional social workers. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance social policies.
- Social Security Administration
The official website of the U.S. Social Security Administration.
- United Nations: Development
Development section of the United Nations web site, which covers economic, financial, and social issues.
- State of Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) is a state agency whose primary responsibilities include providing job services, training and employment assistance to people looking for work.
- Information for Practice
Site designed to help social service professionals throughout the world maintain an awareness of news regarding the social work profession and emerging scholarship.
- U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Website for the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of Americans and providing human services.