Books
Browse recent arrivals.
A geometry of music : harmony and counterpoint in the extended common practice
ISBN: 0195336674
Publication Date: 2011
Women of influence in contemporary music : nine American composers
ISBN: 0810877422
Publication Date: 2011
The music instinct : how music works and why we can't do without it
ISBN: 0199754276
Publication Date: 2010
Comments (0)
Articles and Databases
Listen to a song online, search for an article, or find a phonetic translation of an aria.
- Naxos Music LibraryAudio database of online classical music.
- Oxford Music OnlineCovers all aspects of music, music history, opera, and performance. Has links to digital sound clips on external sites.
- IPA SourceA collection of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Naxos Video LibraryA performing arts video library with over 1,300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
Websites
- Artslynx: Index of International Music Resources online.
- Classical Net: Links to classical sites, composer's works, reviews, articles, books and scores.
- American Memory Collections: Sheet Music
- Aria Database: The Aria Database is an actively growing collection of information about opera and operatic arias. The Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions and some sound files.
- Free Sheet Music: Sheet music selections, from pop to classical, plus digital sheet music.
- Historic American Sheet Music Collection: 1850-1920: Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
-
IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library: 84,000+ public domain scores.
-
Levy Collection of Sheet Music: Johns Hopkins University Special Collections contains over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960.
- Lied and Song Text Page: An Archive of Texts to Art Songs (Lieder, Mélodies, etc.) and Other Classical Vocal Pieces.
- Music Dictionary: Definitions of musical terms.
- Music History: A guide to western composers and their music from the Middle Ages to present.
- Music Notes: An experiential introduction to musical theories and the teaching of music.
- Music Scores.com: This site has free classical sheet music to download and classical midi files to listen to.
- Opera Glass: An index of links to information on opera composers and their works. scores and sheet music:
- Sheet Music Consortium: An open collection of digitized sheet music held by a group of libraries.
- Variations: Online musical scores, opera literature, song literature, orchestral and choral literature, chamber music literature, piano literature and sound recordings.
- Sibelius Academy Music Resources: The Sibelius Academy, a conservatory in Helsinki, provides a list of music sites that links to jazz, blues, rock, pop pages and covers famous composers, gospel, instruments, research, theory, and opera.
- Worldwide Internet Music Resources: From the Indiana School of Music Music Library (William and Gayle Cook Music Library)
Profile |
Contact Info Assistant Director Reference & Instruction Librarian Office: M240 Viterbo University, La Crosse WI 54601 (608) 796-3263 Send Email |






Loading...
