This is a research guide for students of Latin American studies.
Last Updated: May 24, 2013
Concise encyclopedia of Mexico
Call Number: REF F 1204 .C667 2001
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures
Call Number: REF F 1218.6 .O94 2001 v. 1-3
Hispanic culture of Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Call Number: REF F 1234 .H794 1996
Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
Call Number: REF F 1406 .C36 1985
Historial atlas of Central America
Call Number: ATLAS G 1551 .S1 H35 2003
The Hispanic Databook
Call Number: REF E 184.S75
Publication Date: 2012
Today, the number of Hispanics/Latinos has surpassed 50 million and is the fastest growing group in America. The Hispanic Databook takes a detailed look at this group by examining data on national, state, county, and place (city, town, etc.) levels.
- Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals. To limit your searches to Spanish-language articles, under "Limit your results," choose "Spanish" from the "Language" menu.
Provides indexing, images, and full text of popular Hispanic magazines. For Spanish-speaking users.
Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
International index of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of language and literature. Produced by the Modern Language Association and dating back to 1963.
- Caribbean, Diaspora, and Atlantic Studies (CDA) at the University of Iowa
The Caribbean, Diaspora, and Atlantic Studies Program is an interdisciplinary group faculty and graduate students interested in the Caribbean region and Brazil. Following Sidney Mintz's insightful definition of the Caribbean as a socio-cultural area, we focus on 3 main zones: the Francophone, Anglophone, and Hispanic Caribbean, including Brazil.
- Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies at UW-Madison
LACIS (Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Studies Program) is a member of the Wisconsin International Outreach Consortium (WIOC), which allows us to work collaboratively with other area studies programs to perform community outreach. We sponsor regular Brown Bag sessions as an informal way for students and faculty to share current research. In addition, LACIS funds and coordinates academic and cultural events, conferences, and symposia.
- Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies at UW-Milwaukee
The Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CLACS) at UW-Milwaukee develops, supports and promotes teaching, research and outreach about Latin America and the Caribbean. Established in 1965, CLACS is designated a National Resource Center for Language and Area Studies by the US Department of Education, jointly with the Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Studies Program at UW-Madison.
- Center for Latin American Studies at the University of Pittsburgh
Since 1964, the University of Pittsburgh has been committed to a Latin American studies program of unique depth and richness. The Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) has become internationally recognized for excellence in undergraduate, graduate, and professional education and outreach. CLAS is designated as a comprehensive National Resource Center on Latin America by the US Dept. of Education.
- David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies
Founded in 1994, Harvard's David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies (DRCLAS) works to increase knowledge of the cultures, economies, histories, environment and contemporary affairs of past and present Latin America.
- Global Awareness Through Experience (GATE) Program
Gate offers cultural immersion programs and pilgrimage opportunities in Latin America and Europe. GATE's mission is to create an awareness of other cultures and their realities through people-to-people connections.
- Handbook for Latin American Studies at the Library of Congress
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. The Internet version of the Handbook is updated weekly.
- Institute for Latino/a and Latin American Studies at UW-La Crosse
The Institute for Latin American Studies was created in 1974 to call attention to the variety of courses dealing with Latin America at UW-La Crosse. It promotes an understanding of Latin America, facilitates contact among professors with Latin American specialties, seeks to respond to student and community groups and present speakers and other programs. The UWL Institute is linked into the UW system through the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies at UW-Milwaukee.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
LANIC is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to web-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region.
- Latin American Studies Association
The Latin American Studies Association (LASA) is the largest professional association in the world for individuals and institutions engaged in the study of Latin America. With over 6,000 members, forty-five percent of whom reside outside the United States, LASA is the one association that brings together experts on Latin America from all disciplines and diverse occupational endeavors, across the globe.
- Latin American Studies at Viterbo University
Website for Viterbo University's Latin American Studies Program. Includes program and course information.
- Latin American Studies Program at UW-Eau Claire
The globally interdependent nature of today's world makes 2nd language proficiency and cross-cultural understanding valuable assets for students in any field. Students in the Latin American Studies program (LAS) can develop a high proficiency in Spanish as well as in-depth knowledge and understanding of Latin America and Latinos/Hispanics in the United States.
- Pew Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latino's growing impact on the nation. The Center does not take positions on policy issues. It is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" in Washington, DC that provides information on the issues, attitudes & trends shaping America and the world. It is founded by The Pew Charitable Trusts.
- The Conference of Latin American History
The Conference welcomes as members all persons interested in the study of the history of Latin American and related areas. It is open to professional Latin Americanists as well as others personally interested in the region.