History Reference Titles
Chronology of women worldwide: people, places & events that shaped women's history
Call Number: REF HQ 1121 .C617
ISBN: 0787601543
Publication Date: 1997
Cassell's chronology of world history: dates, events and ideas that made history
Call Number: REF D 11 .W55 C37 2005
ISBN: 0304357308
Publication Date: 2005
The illustrated encyclopedia of historical facts: from the dawn of the Christian era to the present day
Call Number: REF D 11 .S74 I45 2002
ISBN: 0760726965
Publication Date: 2002
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: REF E 174 .D53 K88 2003 v.1-10
ISBN: 0684805332
Publication Date: 2003
The third edition of this classic and indispensable work, first published in 1940 and last revised in 1976, has been updated completely for a new generation of students and scholars. Recognizing that the ways in which history is understood and interpreted have changed drastically over the past six decades, the editors have revised 448 articles, replaced 1,360 articles, and added 841 new entries. Gender, race, and social-history perspectives have been added to many entries for the first time. In another departure from the earlier editions, the editors have added maps and illustrations throughout the text, providing helpful visual cues to readers.
Comments (0)
Databases for History
- Academic Search CompleteComprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals. To limit your searches to Spanish-language articles, under "Limit your results," choose "Spanish" from the "Language" menu.
- JSTORArchive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)International index of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of language and literature. Produced by the Modern Language Association and dating back to 1963.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexFeminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- Newspaper Archive (via Badgerlink)Millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. Off-campus users may need to click on "Library Card Access."
History websites
- Historical Text ArchiveThe HTA publishes articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.
- History PlaceThe History Place contains many examples of man's inhumanity to man as well as notable examples of humans rising to the occasion to fight tyranny and preserve freedom.
- HistoryNetHistoryNet.com contains daily features, photo galleries and articles originally published in various magazines of the Weider History Group.
- Library of Congress - American Memory HomeAmerican history website by the Library of Congress covering a variety of subjects.
Library Partner |
Contact Info Jonathan Hinck Collection Management Librarian Viterbo University Library, MC 128 900 Viterbo Drive La Crosse, WI 54601 Send Email |





Loading...
